Welcome to Osa Mountain Village
A Sustainable Resort Community
Live a 
Life of Abundance 
for Less than 
You Ever Imagined!

Guest Reviews

Southern Pacific,
Costa Rica
Where Paradise Gets Its Name
Review of Villa Encanto - Sweeping Views of Ocean & Jungle! Secluded & Spectacular!
Villa Encanto is my happy place on planet Earth

 Left on Jul 18, 2018 for a stay in Mar 2018

My husband and I enjoyed an extended stay at Villa Encanto in Osa Mountain Village and there truly is no place like this on the planet. I dream of returning every single day. The house itself is new, modern and luxurious, with every modern convenience you desire. The panoramic ocean view is unlike any other view we have seen in our world travels. We spent our entire trip on the balcony, drinking coffee and watching sunsets, monkeys, toucans and scarlet macaws. We were blown away by the incredible amount of abundant and exotic wildlife that surrounded the property. This is the perfect location for a real Costa Rican vacation: immersed in nature, secluded and private, yet modern, clean and luxurious accommodations, with adventures waiting around every corner. My husband and I spent 2 years traveling all around Costa Rica, and Villa Encanto at Osa Mountain Village was by far our favorite place that we visited in the entire 2 years.  

From the Team at Happy Coconuts Blog!
Review of Toucan View - Close to Pristine Beaches, Waterfalls, Hiking, & More!​

Left on May 7, 2018 for a stay in Apr 2018

If you are looking for relaxation, this is your place. If you are looking for fun and adventure, this is also your place! You can find both so readily. Some days I spent hanging out by the pool, reading my book. Other days I went adventuring and discovered fun places to hike, excellent restaurants to dine out, and beautiful beaches where the water is just as warm and lovely as it can be. And if you are up for an extra fun adventure, be sure to ride the ziplines and the Superman ride! Osa Mountain Village is conveniently located just 15 minutes from Palmar Sur airport, and the experience of flying in or out of there is a treat you should not miss! The views are just spectacular, and it adds some wonder and beauty to your trip! The people here are warm and friendly, and full of good advice on what to do and see. Patricia and Karen, as mentioned by others, are very personable, helpful and welcoming. They make you feel immediately at home. The community pool is so lovely, nestled in the mountains under an azure sky. The bar and dining area are a good place to meet and chat with the local residents and other guests. Evening meals are a real treat - very affordable home-cooked goodness. This is my third time coming back to OMV, and I will definitely be back again in the future!

From Alexandra H., Campbell, California!
Review of Villa Pizote - A Sweet Villa in the Rain Forest of Costa Rica. Nature & Awe!
Fantastic visit. One of the best vacations ever. Every expectations was exceed. 
Will definitely return.

Left on Apr 30, 2018 for a stay in Mar 2018

We had a great villa with all the conveniences one would not expect in the jungle. Our view looked directly out into the jungle which just enhanced our experience and where we spent our evenings on the patio. We were so impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of everyone we came in contact with. Karen and Patricia came by the first day and gave us a welcome and thorough introduction to the community. We picked fresh vegetables and fruit everyday and then twice per week we participate in the distribution of various vegetables and fresh eggs. Numerous hiking trails provided many challenges; zip lining was exhilarating particularly for someone afraid of heights; fishing arranged by Shani was fantastic; the day long trip to Corcovado, also arranged by Shani, was very special and the friendliness of the Tico's was unparalleled. Knowing very little Spanish did not prove to be a hinderance. Special thanks to Patricia and Karen who were very knowledgeable and were able to answer all of our questions during our weeklong stay.

From GBPackerSJR, Gainesville, Florida!
Review of Casa Cuckoo - Total Immersion! Hiking, Waterfalls & Nature! Amazing!
The Perfect Getaway!

Left on Apr 19, 2018 for a stay in Feb 2018

I recently returned from my third visit to Osa Mountain Village. I literally ‘stumbled’ on to this community about three years ago, while looking for a last-minute place to stay that had internet. I’m so glad that I did. The community is beautifully situated in the jungle at 2,000 ft in elevation, with spectacular views in every direction; many beautiful ocean views as well. The accommodations went way above my expectations, and for this remote location … unbelievable. While the drive up the mountain can be a bit concerning the first time, I adapted to it quickly. Not a big deal for me. The residents, other guests and staff were delightful, and I returned home with many new friends. Tons of nature to commune with as well, right from your deck. If you really need a relaxing, tranquil getaway, Osa Mountain Village is a perfect choice for that. Leave your alarm clock at home, the Howler Monkeys are on it … you won’t over sleep. Pura Vida

From Danny R., Edmonton, Canada!
Review of Casa Aloha - Lots of Space! You'll be Impressed! Take a Look. . .
What an Amazing Place!

​Left on Apr 3, 2017 for a stay in Apr 2017

I absolutely positively loved my experience at Osa Mountain Village Villas! I heard, saw, and lived nothing but great things. I want to plan a trip here for the next family vacation, my little siblings are so excited to play with the monkeys!!


From Nick Atkinson, Orlando, Florida!
Review of Villa Cordana - Perfect for a Family / Large Group in the Jungle!
Best Environmentally-Friendly Resort on the Planet!

​Left on Apr 3, 2017 for a stay in Dec 2016

Osa Mountain Village is the most sustainable, Eco friendly resort community on the planet I have ever seen. We had the most amazing time with all the activities available. This is a MUST SEE resort. One worthy of the Bucket List.


From Gary M., Coronado, Costa Rica!
There's many more reviews to be posted! 


Taking a coffee break. . .my fingers are tired!
Review of Casa de Vida - "In the Jungle, the Mighty Jungle, the Lion Sleeps Tonight, , ,"
Not Enough Time in Paradise!

Left on Apr 2, 2017 for a stay in Mar 2017

This was our second visit to Costa Rica with our destination of Osa Mountain Village. Last year we stayed for 10 days. This year 14 and looking forward to next year. We flew into Liberia and worked our way down south. The Village is on a beautiful setting, well maintained and very nicely furnished. Everyone is helpful and friendly, just like oldfriends by the time we left. Pat and Karen and others gave us ideas of places to enjoy dinner while watching spectacular sunsets. Waterfalls to hike to, bird watching tours, time at the pool and bar/restaurant, free laundry facility, free fresh vegetables and bananas two times a week (that was a wonderful surprise!), zip lining (the first "leg" went right over our villa)...so much to do and yet nothing to do if that's what you like. Just sitting and listening to the birds, and yes, the Howling Monkeys at 4:20 a.m.,in the warm air (90's in March) but also nice breezes and plenty of shade to make it comfortable. We never turned on our air conditioning. You have to drive down to the beaches, which are "cocoa" colored and the water is warm. Make a day of it. There are many open air cafes that serve local dishes and most have other menu items and usually someone who speaks English. Lots of healthy and fresh fruits and vegetables. I recommend the fresh blended pineapple juice! Other reviews mentioned the 7km trip up to the Village. It is a rough one and lives up to its reputation, but worth the trip. Definitely not enough time in paradise.

From Sue Hanson Lieser, Circle Pines!
Review of Villa Dona Faye is a 2-bedroom Jungle Villa! It Sleeps 6! Lots of Room!
A Fun, Safe Place to Visit!

Left on Apr 2, 2017 for a stay in Mar 2017

I stayed at Osa Mountain Village in March. I was a woman traveling solo, and the thought of getting there was a little daunting, but Patricia gave me great advice and made it all easy. Flying in from the US, I stayed the first night in San Jose at The Adventure Inn, which is just a great, quaint small hotel that provides shuttle service to and from the airport. The next day I took a Sansa flight to Palmar Sur. The flight was a treat, very safe, and it's a beautiful way to come into the area. I was met at the airport by Shani from Shani Car Rentals, where I got a great 4-wheel drive Jeep to get up the mountain. The mountain is a little hairy the first time, but you get used to it. I was greeted by Patricia and Karen, and you couldn't ask for better hostesses and company. That's the thing about staying there. You can have as much or as little company as you like. If you're felling social, go down to the Rainforest Club at the pool and suddenly you have new friends. The pool and the view of the Pacific are beautiful, and the open, thatched roof clubhouse is just great. I loved practicing my shots at the pool table there, looking out at the mountains and the water. When I was there they had the bar open about every other night with good, simple food choices at very reasonable prices. Thank you, Alex and Alex. There's so much to do right on the property. The zip-line tour with the Tarzan swing at the end was the bomb. I'd never done it before but I'd sure do that one again. The fact that they supply you with fresh vegetables from the garden and eggs twice a week is an added bonus. The villas are very nice and modern, some with AC and some not so ask if you want that. I did, and I'd use it a couple of hours in the afternoon, but then it wasn't necessary the rest of the time. All in all, it was a great experience and an adventure for me. I recommend getting a villa right at the edge of the forest so you can wake up to the sound of the howler monkeys in the distance. The last night I was there it finally rained, and they were so happy! I'd love to go back in the rainy season and do the things I didn't get to do this time, like whale watching. It's a little cooler then, too. March and April are actually the hottest months. The only thing I'd have to suggest would be a sign for those coming from Palmar Sur. I drove way past the first time. If you come that way, take the first right just past the zip line place, then your first left to go up the mountain.

From Judy Peek, Gainesville, Florida!
Review of Casa Hidlins - Jungle Villa Sleeps 6! Waterfalls, Hiking & More, Oh My!
Such a Great Place!

Left on Apr 2, 2017 for a stay in Mar 2017

We spent two weeks at Osa Mountain Village in a two bedroom Villa. I found the property on Homeaway and booked almost a year in advance but when I booked or whenever I had any questions through the year Patrica was always quick to get back and so helpful. Can't say enough good about how helpful she was before and during our stay. When we arrived the Villa we stayed in was perfect. Very nice and backed onto the Jungle. The value is so amazing I almost hate to share about the place and have it become busier and more expensive :) The village was not very busy when we were there so it was very nice and quiet. It has a beautiful pool that looks out into the valley. One of favorite things was the fresh veggies and fruit growing right on the property that we could help ourselves to. The only thing you do want to be aware of is that you will want a vehicle if you are staying here and it is a bit of a trip out to the closest town. It is 7 KM down the hill to the main road which takes about 20 mins. Then it's another 5-10 mins to Palmar Norte where you can get most everything you need. Also be prepared for a 4 x 4 adventure heading up :) It is also probably about 45 mins to good beaches once you figure in the 20 mins down to the Hwy. As long as you are not looking for a beach destination this place is amazing. We would definitely go back again! I could go on and on about how beautiful it is in the area! We had our two young daughters (3 and 5) with us on this trip and they also loved the village and the countless hours they spent at the pool.

From Jason S., Topeka, Kansas!
Review of Experiencia Memorable - Mountain Rain Forest! Nature, Waterfalls, Canopy Tour!
Clean, Comfortable and So Many Birds!

Left on Mar 29, 2017 for a stay in Feb 2017

We stayed at Osa Mountain Village for a week in February 2017 and were very happy there. Nearly every morning and evening we heard the macaws before we saw them in the distance. We were lucky to have a much closer view of a pair of macaw on a short walk nearby...stunningly beautiful up close! (Patricia, the rental manager, had told us where we would likely see them and that is exactly where they were!) There were lots of other birds flying about as we sat on our deck. We went on the waterfall hikes and luckily we went with other folks who knew to walk up along the stream to reach the upper waterfall. It was loads of fun. We met and enjoyed visiting with some of the many friendly people we met, but also enjoyed much of our time hanging out in the privacy of our home. We stayed in 13B, which had one bedroom & one bathroom. The kitchen/dining/living area was a nice size and the deck overlooked a huge steep mountain thick with majestic primary rainforest. The place was clean and comfortable, as was the king size bed. The temperatures were cool due to excellent ventilation. The kitchen had plenty of supplies for cooking such as excellent pots and pans etc, and the full size refrigerator was nice. We enjoyed salad that we picked ourselves out of the community garden, and made eggs that we picked right out of the hen house! The drive up the mountain is around 15 minutes and well worth it. The location is about 40 minutes to the small town of Sierpe where you can get boat rides exploring the wild Osa Peninsula and Caño island, amongst other activities. Also, Palmar Norte, where you can stock up on groceries and eat at a few different restaurants, is around 25 minutes away. It is a pretty drive.


From Mag Don 8888, Spokane, Washington!
Five Stars!